TUESDAY TRUTHS: The Penn State Sex Abuse Scandal

I’d like for you to go read this story to get up to speed on this issue: http://www.cbsnews.com/8301-201_162-57324690/sandusky-claims-innocence-but-admits-to-showers/.  Go ahead, I’ll wait.  But come right back.

So, Sandusky says he did shower with ten year old boys but that he didn’t do it because he was attracted to them or anything.  Liar, liar, pants on fire, anyone?  Anyone?

Listen, I went to camp when I was a boy and we all took group showers together, even the adults.  Well, I didn’t.  I would either wait until no one else was around or sometimes I just wouldn’t bother and would just wait til I got home at the end of the week.  I was like 8, ok, so give me a break.  But when the adults needed to shower, they weren’t hanging out one on one with us and they weren’t letting us “play around” in there while they watched us frolic.  “Horseplay” wasn’t even allowed at the pool, let alone naked in the showers!  Its just simply not normal behavior, even years ago before we all got freaked out and required adults to change their clothes in separate rooms so that no one accidentally sees a grown up penis.

I can’t believe any attorney would allow their client to say the things Sandusky is saying out loud.  Does ANYONE buy what he’s selling?  If so, I’d love to hear why.  What am I missing?

Child sexual abuse is a huge problem in our world.  That statistics are staggering and the fact that this guy is out there denying what he did in such a cavalier way is just unbelievable to me.  Truth is he has done damage to people and he does not really seem to care.  I only hope our legal system works the way its supposed to in this case.  I mean, Joe Paterno, a man I don’t know much about admittedly, seemed to do the right thing by reporting to his boss about the things he was aware of yet lost his job anyway because the University needed to shift the focus away on to someone and something else, is now suffering . . . yet this Sandusky person is walking around . . . and apparently there’s some potential judicial misconduct involved, too?  What a mess.

What would you do if you knew a child was being molested?  Would you drop it after reporting it to your boss?  What other choices do you have?  Vigilante justice, while romantic and interesting to me, probably isn’t the best approach.  Yet, still, part of me wonders what would have happened had Joe Paterno and/or the football team trampled this guy in the shower the minute they discovered his offenses on the 10 year old boy that they were aware of.  Again, its a complicated issue.

But let me tell you leave you with this truth… men do not shower with 10 year old boys in public showers, especially ones who aren’t their sons.  That is the truth.  Right?

Leave your thoughts in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

