FAVORITE THINGS WEDNESDAY – SPECIAL DISNEY WEEK EDITION: Favorite Attractions

I thought today I’d force myself to pick my favorite attraction at each of the four Disney parks and share a little bit about them and why I love them so much.  This is very hard to do so I think I’m going to rank them in Top 5 List format and write a paragraph about each number one pick.

First, let’s start with the Magic Kingdom.  There are of course 7 (well, six now but there’s talk of making the new Circus-themed area separate from Fantasyland to keep that number at 7) lands centered around Cinderella Castle.  My top five picks in this park are:

5. Splash Mountain

4. Haunted Mansion

3. Mickey’s Philharmagic

2. The Tomorrowland Transit Authority (PeopleMover)

1. Pirates of the Carribbean

I settled on Pirates because there’s seldom a line, its cool inside the show building, and the fact that its on the water makes it a very relaxing way to spend a few moments.  The special effects are cool and the theming and detail is all very impressive.

At Epcot, things are harder to choose.

5. The American Adventure

4. Living with the Land

3. Test Track

2. Soarin’

1. Spaceship Earth

Spaceship Earth gets the nod because again there’s usually little wait.  Its my favorite kind of ride – the slow moving, dark ride.  But mostly because it is in the most iconic structure in all of Disney World outside of Cinderella Castle.  It is probably the thing I take the most photos of on any given trip to Epcot and I always make a point of riding through it at least once.

The park that I usually spend the most time in on any given trip is the Disney Hollywood Studios.  There are so many things that I love in this park.

5. Backlot Studio Tour

4. Indiana Jones Stunt Spectacular

3. MuppetVision 4-D

2. The Great Movie Ride

1. Twilight Zone Tower of Terror

I’m not usually a big thrill seeker, but this attraction is so well designed that it is at the top of my list.  I actually kind of like the sensation of falling (skydiving in my future? I seriously doubt it).  This is another high capacity attraction that rarely sees very long lines and the attention to detail in the storytelling is some of the best in the world.  Its really worth checking out even if you’re afraid.

Finally, there’s the Animal Kingdom.  Its the park I spend the least amount of time in but it really should be savored and perused slowly to fully appreciate its charm.

5. Expedition Everest

4. Kilamanjaro Safari

3. Finding Nemo: The Musical

2. It’s Tough to Be a Bug

1. Festival of the Lion King

I talked about the FotLK on Monday so I’d rather spend a little time talking about what I consider to be the best 3-D movie in all four parks (Philharmagic is a very close second).  It’s Tough to Be a Bug is really fun the first time.  Its just as fun every time afterwards because now you know what’s coming and the people around you usually have no idea.  Their reactions alone make it worth winding around the Tree of Life’s many paths to get into the theater.  I never fail to leave the theater with a smile on my face after seeing this show.

So, there you have it – my favorite things at Disney World.  What are yours?  Leave them in the comments section!

TOMORROW IS AUDIO THURSDAY!

Leave a Reply

