MONDAY MATINEE: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2

What is left to be said about this franchise?  With its conclusion, it truly is the end of an era.  I heard a woman on the radio say “My childhood is now officially over,” as she grew up with Harry, Hermoine, Ron, and the rest.

I would assume that those of you who care about it have already seen it and those of you who don’t will not be upset about any spoilers so I thought it’d be best just to highlight some things in a list format.

Matthew Lewis as Neville Longbottom

1. Neville Longbottom – and Matthew Lewis, the actor who portrays him – should get a spin off series as a wizard specializing in forensics or something.  With his penchant for potions and his new found bravery, he would be great to watch.  I loved him in this movie.

2. My favorite line in the book, uttered by Molly Weasley to Bellatrix LeStrange, wasn’t given the emotional impact it had in the book.  The timing was wrong, I think.  It just sort of happened too quickly.  I was mildly disappointed by this.

3. I was not disappointed by anything else.  Everything from Professor McGonagle taking charge to Harry uncovering his fate in the pensive to the final battle and the Epilogue was all done as well as one could expect.

4. This movie should be nominated for some Academy Awards.  The cinematography is superb, the acting was all around excellent, and I’d love to see Ralph Fiennes and Alan Rickman rewarded for their fine work.  The direction by David Yates is also excellent.

5. I’ve heard people say that it is too dark in 3D.  I saw it in IMAX 3D format and didn’t find it too dark, but instead thought the film was beautiful.  I may have to go back and see it again in plain old 2D format, though, just to see if they’re right.  Is that a good enough excuse to watch it again?

Did you see HP7part2?  Were you crazy enough to go at midnight on Thursday?  Tell us about your experiences in the commetns section!  

Tomorrow is TUESDAY TRUTH!  See ya then.

 

Leave a Reply

