SATURDAY SPECIAL: Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

So, I’ve decided to add an occasional weekend blog and it will likely focus on my recipes.  I live alone (happily so, so no fixups, if you know whats good for you!) and so cooking isn’t always as practical as the value menu at Wendy’s down the street.  However, now that I have a nice clean kitchen (and a biweekly housekeeper to keep it that way), I’m able to cook more.  I actually love to cook, but I am a pretty picky eater.  So, these will be things I enjoy eating.  I have very American tastes: beef, chicken, potatoes, and pasta and I like things fairly plain . . . but I think you’ll be somewhat surprised by some of the concoctions I’ve developed.

Today is my Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich.

This is best if you’ve planned ahead at least a day so that you can marinate the chicken breast properly.  So far, I’m big on Lawry’s Original Seasoning marinade for this particular sandwich, though I’ve got a couple others in the cupboard to try later. Here goes:

INGREDIENTS:

1 skinless, boneless chicken breast.  The thinner the better.
a Bottle of Storebought marinade
A few slices of ham from the deli.  I like Sarah Lee.
2-3 slices of Baby Swiss cheese.  Storebrand is probably OK if you’re at a big name grocery store.
A nice big gourmet hamburger bun

1. Marinate an uncooked chicken breast in the refrigerator for 24-48 hours.  Its important to poke a few holes in the breast with your fork or even cut part way into the meat so that marinade can really soak into the chicken.

2. After proper marination time, throw the breast on the Foreman grill (or regular grill if you have one!) and cook til desired color.  I like my grilled chicken almost a little burnt to ensure a) its cooked long enough not to kill me and b) I like just a little charring for the flavor.  Don’t cook it too long, though, because on the Foreman grill it tends to dry out. The marinade should help with some of that.

3. While the breast is cooking, warm up the ham in the microwave for no more than 30-45 seconds depending on the thickness of the slices.

4. Check the chicken and brush some more marinade on it with a basting brush.  This is just to make sure its gonna have great flavor.

5. When the chicken is cooked (usually 7-8 minutes or less), put it on the bun, with the swiss cheese and the ham.

6. Eat it and remember to email Kirk and thank him for this delicious recipe.

Now, if you like mayo or mustard or even BBQ sauce, you could add a little of that, but not too much.  The chicken should be flavorful enough without it.  Enjoy!

Do you have a favorite chicken sandwich recipe?  Share it in the comments section!

One thought on “SATURDAY SPECIAL: Chicken Cordon Bleu Sandwich

  1. Here’s my favorite chicken sandwich recipe:

    Open the door to the garage.
    Open the car door and start car.
    Drive to the nearest Chick-fil-A.
    Order a #1, substitute fruit cup for fries, iced tea, and no pickle.
    Ask for BBQ sauce.
    Sit down, open sandwich and pour on the BBQ sauce.
    Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

