FAVORITE THINGS WEDNESDAY: G.I. Joe Cartoons

When I was a boy, I had a few favorite shows.  “He-Man and the Masters of the Universe” (“By the power of Greyskull! . . . “I have the power!”) was certainly up there on the list of can’t miss shows.  “WWF Superstars of Wrestling” on Saturdays at noon was important to me, of course, as was “Saturday Night’s Main Event,” which I would often stay up for every week just hoping that TV Guide was wrong and that stupid Saturday Night Live show was pre-empted for the infinitely better professional wrestling show.

But really, if pressed to admit it, I’d say that GI Joe was my favorite program.  I remember my mother telling me one day when I was around 10 or 11 that I had to pick one show to watch every week . . . and I deliberated (mostly over how I was going to sneak and connive and manipulate my way into watching what I wanted) over which show to pick.  GI Joe had my heart at the time.

I even incoporated my GI Joe toys into my love for wrestling by booking wrestling matches with my figures and creating intricate backstories and long detailed histories for my soldiers as they entered the ring to battle.  There was just something about that elite group of fighters, all who specialized in different things, battling the EVIL Cobra Commander.

And who can forget the wonderful PSAs at the end of every episode?  Fire safety, swimming, bullying . . . they covered it all.  Because “knowing is half the battle,” right?

Memories, memories.  GI Joe remains to this day one of my favorite things.  And I just saw that they’re replaying them on the HUB network.  Where’s my DVR remote?

See ya tomorow for THEME PARK THURSDAY!

Leave a Reply

