FAVORITE THINGS WEDNESDAY: To Kill a Mockingbird

I’ve always had a bit of a rebellious streak in me, though it usually only comes out in passive aggressive ways.  For instance, I have always been intrigued by books that were banned and have found myself seeking out controversial works of art as a way of rebelling.  Its also been a catalyst for me to live more fully and understand things about life in a different way that I was taught by my traditional Christian upbringing.

Recently, I saw this list of 100 Banned Books and was surprised to see To Kill A Mockingbird on that list.

I don’t know why I was surprised given that recently a school cancelled a performance of a play adapted from this American classic novel.

Harper Lee’s book has two major acts, as it were, and they both have a bittersweet resolution at the end of the story.  It is narrated by Scout Finch, a 6 year old girl, who tells the story of her attorney father, Atticus Finch, and his legal defense or falsely accused black man Tom Robinson in the biggest rape trial the county had ever seen.  This is the main event, but the book has so much rich detail when describing the quirky neighbors, Scout’s relationship with her older brother Jem, and mostly their reclusive and mysterious neighbor, Boo Radley.  It has themes addressing tolerance, racism, and inspires people to not judge people before you really know them.  It is an amazing piece of literature.

This is my favorite novel ever.  I try to read it once a year and am actually looking for one of my copies of it as soon as I finish writing this blog post to begin my 2011 read through.  If you’ve never read it, you really should.  Let me know when you do, because I want to talk about it with you!

Come back tomorrow for Theme Park Thursday!

Leave a Reply

