THEATER THURSDAY: The Green Hornet

Seth Rogen bothers me.  I don’t know why, really, but there’s something about his smugness that is off putting to me.  So, when my friend Connie said she wanted to see The Green Hornet – a Rogen star vehicle – I was lukewarm about the idea.  Given that there wasn’t much else playing I wanted to see, though, I agreed.  I am so glad I did.

This was a very funny mindless action picture.  Rogen was less obnoxious than usual and acted like a star in this movie.  The rest of the cast, including Christoph Waltz, Cameron Diaz, and the very entertaining Jay Chou as Kato (strangley, imdb.com has John Cho listed as Kato at the time of this review) all played their roles well.  Veterans Tom Wilkinson and James Edward Olmos brought some gravitas to the story, but the real star of this movie is the action sequences.

I would have trimmed about 20 minutes off of the movie in various scenes had I been editing it but even still it was an entertaining night at the movies.  There was no deep life lesson.  I didn’t tear up.  But I did laugh out loud several times and that is a valid way to connect emotionally to the material.  So because of that, I recommend it.  Its likely going to be a hit even though my favorite movie reviewer Roger Ebert HATED it.

Also if you can watch the very first scene with an uncredited cameo (I won’t tell you who either but it was a nice surprise) and not understand why the hardest working artist in Hollywood IS the it-guy right now then you just don’t get it.

Did you see it?  What did you think?  Post your comments below or on FaceBook!

Leave a Reply

