FOOD: Five Guys Burgers

A couple of weeks ago when I saw that there was a new FIVE GUYS BURGERS opening in the Northgate area I got excited. I’d heard the rave reviews but was unable to experience this dining experience for myself yet.  I’m a burger-lover.  Ask my mom; it was one of the few things she could always get me to eat when I was a youngster.  Even now, while I don’t eat as many of them as I used to, its something I enjoy making on the Foreman grill and getting at the Wendy’s or Burger King Drive Thru.

So, I headed up to the new FGB tonight after church.  I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I was thinking it would be a place where I would sit down and be waited on, so I carried my iPad in.  Mistake #1.  The perky young woman behind the register took my order. I was disappointed that they only offered American cheese.  I ordered a Bacon Cheeseburger with BBQ sauce on it with a side of fries and a large Coke.  She remained friendly throughout the process, acknowledging that this was my first time without having to ask just by the hesitation in my orders.  I got my Coke cup and filled it up and waited the 5-7 minutes for my order.  The young lady putting the toppings on the burgers noticed me watching her and she made small talk while I waited.  Everyone was very friendly and enthusiastic.  There was an energy there, for sure.

I had ordered it “Eat in.”  I didn’t notice any difference in that from the take-out orders other than I was charged sales tax and they weren’t.  I was still given a greasy paperboy filled with my food and I filled up a nice, big plastic container with Heinz ketchup out of the pump and found an empty seat.  The burger was good, nothing special I didn’t think.  The American cheese was not good, as it never is for me.  The bacon was nice and the double hamburger itself was good. I couldn’t really taste the BBQ sauce.  The fries were probably the best part, as they reminded me of Penn Station’s fries.  Actually, I would say that Five Guys Burgers is the Penn Station of hamburgers, only I like Penn Station more.

So, it was a little disappointing.  I’ll definitely try it again, though, and this time I’ll probably skip the cheese and bacon and BBQ and double up on the ketchup.

Leave a Reply

