Movie Review: Iron Man 2

I remember not wanting to see the first Iron Man all that much. I didn’t know the character and didn’t know anything about it. I figured it would be just OK and I was completely wrong. It was very good. But for some reason I was again not all that excited about seeing the new one. While it wasn’t as good as the first, I did walk away satisfied.

I think as I get older I am getting less interested in these kinds of movies. They’re fine once in awhile but I don’t feel a need to rush to the theater and grab tickets and a seat on opening day for these big blockbusters. If it weren’t for my friend wanting to see some of them, I probably wouldn’t go out of my way. That’s not to say I don’t enjoy them; I just don’t enjoy them as much as I do more emotional or comedic fare.

I do need to give Robert Downey Jr. credit. My friend Connie said she could sit and watch him for 2 hours do little to nothing. I get that. He’s so charismatic that you can’t take your eyes off of him when he’s on screen. Having to share with the also charismatic Mickey Rourke, Gwenyth Paltrow, Don Cheadle, Sam Rockwell, Samuel L. Jackson, and Scarlett Johannsen you would think would be a challenge. He managed to outshine all of them. Even John Faverau who often times manages to steal the spotlight in small supporting character roles was just pleasant background for Downey.

Without Downey, this movie is just another action movie. But this franchise has legs because of him.

Leave a Reply

