Kirk Gets Fit!

Well . . . its time. I’m sick of being fat. I’m starting to notice it more and more and I’m ready to change. And I’m going to take you all on my journey to fitness.

I bought a new scale today. I’ll be using the blog and my facebook/twitter accounts to keep track of my progress so that you all can encourage and challenge me. I’ve tried this before (more than once) but I have not been quite this concerned about my overall health as I have become lately. For one thing, I’m getting older and I can’t afford to not be healthy. Secondly, and this is a bit of a vanity thing, but I don’t want to stand up in front of the church singing and/or playing and looking like I do now. Actually, let’s reframe that: I want my body (that is a temple) to reflect my level of commitment to the Lord. So, its time for a change.

I am going to have no more than 1 can of pop per day. I am going to start eating more salad (and I don’t use dressing, so I’m good there) and other vegetables and fruits. I’m going to walk at least 3 times a week to start for at least 30 minutes. The goal will be to get down to a weight that will allow me to get back on the Wii Fit so I can start using it again as right now I’m about 333 lbs, which is over the weight limit for the balance board.

Thanks for your support and encouragement in advance!

Leave a Reply

