MOVIE REVIEW: Up in the Air

Its taken me a week, but I’ve finally had a minute to sit down and write my thoughts about this movie. If you remember, I talked about how I was looking forward to seeing this movie after watching “Avatar” because I believed it would make me feel something. I thought I would connect with it.

Funny enough, the whole theme of the movie is connectedness. Its the story of a traveling businessman who loves life on the road. He has no friends, seldom talks to his family and never sees them. He doesn’t dislike people, per se, but he doesn’t see the importance of relationships with them. He meets a woman on the road and between his feelings for her mixed with the wisdom of a youngster half his age, he has some epiphanies. But this is not a happy movie. Its not a romantic comedy. Its a big budget indie flick and I loved it.

Connection is so important; even I, who preach the virtues of being single and alone, understand the value of being connected to other people. I happen to think that – at least for me – the secret is to have 3 or 4 very close friendships and minimal the superficial stuff. I don’t do fake well and I don’t tolerate fake relationships. But I couldn’t live without my closest friends.

Go see Up in the Air if you’ve started to lose your faith in people. Go see it if you want a light drama with a couple of very funny moments. Go see it if you like George Clooney, as this might havef been his best role yet. The female leads were also very good. I really enjoyed this movie and was glad to see it with one of my closest friends.

Leave a Reply

