Movie Review: THE BLIND SIDE

I’ve extolled the virtues of Sandra Bullock many times in the past, but this is the first time I believe I’ve ever said this: if she is not nominated for an Oscar for her portrayal of Leigh Ann Tuohy then I don’t know what else she’d have to do to earn it.

And as good as she is in this film, I’d say that if they gave a “Best Ensemble” award, this cast is amazing. Who knew Tim McGraw would be this great? I’d never heard of Quinton Aaron before, but he can do more with a glance and a smile than any other male actor I’ve seen this side of George Clooney. Kathy Bates still shines as one of Hollywood’s heavy hitters. And perhaps my favorite actor in this film is little Jae Head, who absolutely steals many of the scenes he’s in with his more seasoned castmates.

Not only is the acting phenomenal, but this movie made me emote more than any film since Gran Torino. I very seldom go to a movie and hope that its not coming to an end soon; typically a film this long would drive me to look at my watch and want to text someone or do something to keep the boredom at bay. During “The Blind Side” I was hoping for more and more and more; I did NOT want it to end.

I’m not a huge football fan; I didn’t need to be to appreciate this movie. This is a movie about people. It’s a movie about putting others first and advocating for those who would not otherwise have a voice. Football is just the backdrop for this moving drama about a boy in a man’s body who meets a strong woman – who in spite of her lack of outward emotion – has a heart as big as the football star she helped create.

Please see this movie. Please. I think it will change you. I think it has changed me.

Leave a Reply

