Revival

I’m having a personal revival of sorts lately and I hope it lasts. I’m sure a large part of it is due to several new and exciting things that have been happening professionally and personally . . . I don’t want to bore you with too many details, but I also figure you wouldn’t be reading this blog if you didn’t care a little, so . . .

1. I’ve officially resigned with LifeWay effective 12/09. This means I won’t be in Blue Ash seeing clients any more, but it does not affect any current LifeWay clients that I see in Harrison. I’ll still be there doing what I do. I appreciate the wonderful support and encouragement I received from LifeWay and specifically Dr. Kelly when starting my practice a year and a half ago, but new doors are opening and I feel called to pursue different opportunities.

2. One such opportunity is that as soon as possible, I will begin seeing clients at YouthWorks Adolescent and Family Counseling in Cheviot at least one day a week. My friends Stephanie Young and Jenee Hartkopf have graciouslly allowed me to worm my way into their brand new practice and I’m excited about the potential there.

3. I absolutely LOVE supervising students at CCU’s counseling program and am hopeful about other opportunities that may provide me. I’m presenting at the Fall Summit on 11/13 and if you’re a MAC alumni and haven’t registered already . . well, what’s wrong with you? Dr. Jodie Edwards is presenting in the morning on the Interpersonal Counseling Theory of Suicide and I can’t wait to hear what she has to say. Then in the afternoon, I’m co-leading a training on issues of managed care. I can at least promise you that I will not be boring and that’s something, right?

4. I’ve been attending Whitewater Crossing Christian Church and really like it. More on this later.

5. Last night, I was able to see my very bestest friend from college, Mike Kupferer, at the National Youth Workers Convention, as well as listen to the always intriguing, thought-provoking, and inspirational Dr. Tony Campolo. He spoke on the issue of “time” and how it relates to Christ and his sacrifice and it was certainly a unique take on theology. I need to formulate a better opinion and probably run it by Dr. Cottrell on FaceBook to see what he thinks about the concept of the speed of light and existentialism . . . It was definitely deep.

That’s it for right now. I hope to get kirksheppard.com updated and designed the way I want it very soon and will have some new content via podcasts and maybe even some new music as I’m itching to write and play and stuff again . . .

How are you guys and what are you up to? Can’t wait to hear!

Leave a Reply

