Movie Review: The Orphan

I like scary movies. Not gory, graphic blood-fests but the kind of suspenseful mystery thrillers that keep you on the edge of your seat. I had pretty low expectations going into “The Orphan.” I mean, I paid $3.00 to see it and figured I’d be lucky to get my money’s worth. In fact, I wouldn’t have been shocked had I wanted to walk out.

But this was an entertaining two hours.

The movie is the story of a couple who already has two children and had a still born baby – so they decide to adopt. There’s lots of drama in their backstory – just like with most real life couples. And this adopted daughter comes with some baggage. In fact, I kept thinking “oh, this is a pretty extreme but interesting portrayal of Reactive Attachment Disorder.” And just like the parents of children with these symptoms, the characters in the film reacted realistically.

There are surprising twists and I never saw them coming; and unlike movies like “The Usual Suspects” and “Primal Fear” I didn’t resent the twist. I didn’t feel tricked – I identified with the protagonists.

So, there you have it – a moderate recommendation for “The Orphan” if you like this sort of film.

Leave a Reply

